St Kevins Community College
Striving together for Excellence

St. Kevin’s Community College Annual Excellence Awards Evening 2024

A wonderful evening celebrating achievement in St. Kevin's
St. Kevin’s Community College Annual Excellence Awards Evening 2024

St. Kevin’s Community College hosted its highly anticipated Annual Awards Night on Thursday 21st of May. The event, celebrating the outstanding achievements of students across various academic and extracurricular domains was well attended by students and their families. The event was graced by distinguished guests who shared inspiring messages and presented awards to deserving students. This report summarises the key highlights and speeches from the night.

⬇⬇⬇ Scroll to the bottom to check out the pictures ⬇⬇⬇

Keynote Speakers

Mr Doran - Principal

Principal Mr Doran welcomed everyone and spoke about the importance of the awards night in celebrating student achievements. He thanked the staff, students, and parents for their support and commitment to excellence.

Sean O'Rourke - Journalist

Sean O'Rourke, a renowned journalist with deep connections to the village of Dunlavin, addressed the audience with a heartfelt speech. He emphasized the importance of hard work and thorough preparation in school and life, drawing parallels to his own experiences. His message underscored the value of diligence and commitment to achieving success.

Cllr Patsy Glennon - Chair of the School’s Board

Cllr Patsy Glennon shared his inspiring journey from student to barrister. He spoke about the significance of the awards night in recognizing student achievements and inspiring others to strive for excellence. Cllr Glennon highlighted his unconventional path, explaining how he went back to college later in life to pursue a career as a barrister. His story served as a powerful reminder that it is never too late to follow one's passions and that perseverance can lead to remarkable accomplishments.

Dr Deirdre Keys - KWETB CEO

Dr Deirdre Keys praised the event as a cornerstone of the school community, highlighting how St. Kevin’s is at the heart of Dunlavin. She extended her best wishes to all attendees, acknowledging the hard work and dedication of the students and staff.

Ms Murphy - Deputy Principal

Deputy Principal Ms Murphy focused on the Endeavour Awards, explaining that these accolades recognize students based on their effort and work rate, rather than solely on academic grades. She commended the recipients for their perseverance and dedication.

Ms Reid - Deputy Principal

Deputy Principal Ms Reid highlighted the importance of attendance, noting its correlation with academic success. 19 Gold Attendance Awards were presented to students who had not missed a single day of school, and 30 Silver Attendance Awards to those who missed only one day.

Award Recipients

Leaving Certificate 2023

  • Highest LC 2023: Oisin Doyle
  • Outstanding LC 2023 (Over 600 Points): Ffion Brace, Lilian Halpin
  • Excellent LC 2023 (Over 500 Points):
  • Aoife Riley
  • Peadair Halpin
  • Tony Hickey
  • Flannan Whittle
  • Paul O'Brien
  • Cara Fisher
  • Roisin Cowley
  • Emma Lawler
  • Ciaran Clarke
  • Dylan Dunning
  • Neamh Murphy
  • Ross Sheridan
  • Niamh Thompson
  • Erica Flynn
  • Eimear Casey
  • Holly Wright
  • Niamh Conlon
  • Orlaith Ni Ghallchobhair
  • Daragh Gallagher
  • Highest Leaving Certificate Applied Result: Cara Archbold

Junior Certificate 2023

  • Highest Junior Certificate Result 2023: Jonah Lynch
  • Excellent Junior Certificate Results 2023:
  • Ailbhe Hennessy
  • Eabha Cullen
  • Tara Kelly
  • Orla Church
  • Clodagh Flynn
  • Mia Flanagan
  • Denis Halpin
  • Culann Doyle
  • Laura Kelly
  • Cathal Hennigan
  • Sarah Faye Lawler
  • Amy O'Mara
  • Daniel Gahan
  • Cara Mooney
  • Leah Spillane
  • Aoife Fenner
  • Alicia Carroll
  • Oscar Grace
  • Jonas Klauer
  • Mia Allen
  • Ellie Dillon
  • Alannah Sheridan

Subjects & Sports Awards

  • Art Junior: Lily Allen
  • Art Senior: Isolde Kerlin
  • Business Junior: Treasa Boland
  • Enterprise Senior: Megan Thompson
  • Gradam na Gaeilge Junior: Alix Foley Doran
  • Gradam na Gaeilge Senior: Feargal Hennigan
  • History Junior: Lorcan McGrane
  • History Senior: Miriam Farrell
  • Home Economics Junior: Grace Nolan
  • Home Economics Senior: Naomi Miley
  • Leaving Certificate Physical Education: Martin Byrne
  • Politics and Society Senior: Peter Lawlor
  • Geography Senior: Liadan Kelly
  • Geography Junior: Brooke Thackaberry
  • English Junior: Lorcan McGrane
  • English Senior: Sarah-Jane O’Neill
  • Maths Junior: Lorcan McGrane
  • Maths Senior: Feargal Hennigan
  • Modern Foreign Language Junior: Sarah Coyne
  • Modern Foreign Language Senior: Feargal Hennigan
  • Music Junior: Erin Kelly
  • Music Senior: Anna Moran
  • Science Junior: Jane Hennessey
  • Science Senior: Lauren Donaghy
  • Technology Junior: Sean Lawler
  • Technology Senior: Brian Dunne Thackaberry
  • LCA Ambassador Award: Chloe Donoghue
  • Senior Sports: Ciaran Traynor
  • Junior Sports: Eoin Miley
  • Citizenship Award: Anna Moran

Team Awards

In addition to individual achievements, St. Kevin’s Community College also recognized the exceptional performances of various school teams. The captains of each team proudly collected the trophies on behalf of their teammates, celebrating their collective hard work and dedication throughout the year.

Team Awards and Captains

  • Senior Boys GAA Team
  • Captain: Ciaran Traynor
  • Achievement: Won Wicklow Senior A Championship
  • First Year Boys Basketball Team
  • Captain: Aaron Foley Doran
  • Achievement: Won their plate competition
  • U19 Girls Basketball Team
  • Captains: Anna Moran & Sophie Deering
  • Achievement: Won the Midlands C Plate
  • Second Year Girls Basketball Team
  • Captain: Louise O’Mara
  • Achievement: Won Midlands C Shield Final
  • Junior Boys Hurling Team
  • Captain: Jim Corrigan
  • Achievement: Won South Leinster D Final
  • Senior Boys Soccer Team
  • Captain: Eoin Deering
  • Achievement: Won Midlands Div 2 Final

The Annual Awards Evening at St. Kevin’s Community College was a resounding success, celebrating the remarkable achievements of its students. The event not only recognized academic excellence but also highlighted the importance of effort, attendance, and community involvement. Congratulations to all the awardees for their exceptional accomplishments.

No events found
Some phenomenal pieces created by our talented Transition Years
Our Junior Cycle class of 2023 collected their results this afternoon.
Peter Lawlor and Caoimhe Moore have been appointed for the 2023/24 academic year
Dunlavin, Co. Wicklow.
045 406 000
© 2024 St Kevins Community College