St Kevins Community College
Striving together for Excellence

Senior Midland's League Soccer Champions

St Kevin's Senior Boys Finish the Season as Champions!
Senior Midland's League Soccer Champions

St Kevin's Senior Soccer Boys Team had a sensational win in the Midlands League Final in a wind-swept Newbridge Town Ground. The game started off at a frantic pace as the St. Kevin's team battled against the elements and played into a very strong wind. Clonaslee were on top in the initial exchanges and after going close and forcing the St. Kevin's Number One Cian Flood into a few very fine saves, they hit the front from a swirling free kick that bounced beyond the reach of Cian. St Kevin's began to play more impressively from the 25th minute as they began to acclimatise and adapt to the difficult conditions. Eoin Deering and the ever reliable Dylan Warren began to combine to cause Clonaslee problems. On 35 minutes the tireless Dylan Dunning won a penalty that was taken by Dylan Warren. Dylan finished to the net at the second attempt to put St Kevin's back into the game. This meant the teams went in at the break 1-1.

After an inspirational speech by Mr Howley at half time the St. Kevin's boys began to take charge in the game with Darragh Curran, Tony Hickey and Dylan Warren taking control of the midfield exchanges. The efforts of the Wicklow school were rewarded when Dylan Dunning was awarded a penalty that the redoubtable Joseph Mills dispatched coolly to the net. Clonaslee to their credit battled hard and they were rewarded with a penalty of their own after an unfortunate handball by a St. Kevin's player. At 2-2 this became a proper cup tie as tensions and emotions rose. To their credit the St Kevin's team, began to assert total control as Jake Muldowney and Evan Farrell began to dominate defensively and this moved St. Kevin's further and further up the pitch.

Rory Corrigan and Cian Deering began to combine and Dylan Dunning was unlucky not to get on the end of an excellent cross from Rory. Mr Howley introduced some changes on the 65 minute mark and they paid dividends as the relentless Callum Kelly and Eimhin Faherty really worked hard to continue the St. Kevin's dominance. Another of those changes was Matt Miley who was instrumental in the play until the end of the game. The third goal saw a wonderful move involving Matt Miley and Dylan Warren who was scythed down for a penalty by the scrambling Clonaslee cover. Joe Mills expertly converted the penalty. The fourth goal for St Kevin's was a real team move, it started at the back with Jake Muldowney playing a clever ball to Dylan Warren who they found Joe Mills who completed his hat-trick. The game ended with St Kevin's recording a deserved victory of 4-2.

The hat-trick hero Joe Mills was presented with the trophy in front of a delighted support. Joe thanked the opponents, officials, the FAI Schoolboy League, his teacher Mr Howley for his work with the team all season, and all the panel members and players that played in all the other games throughout the season. Congratulations St Kevin's.

Full Panel:

1. Ben Haslam

2. Callum Kelly

3. Cian Deering

4. Cian Flood

5. Clarke Lagbas

6. Darragh Curran

7. Dylan Dunning

8. Dylan Warren

9. Eimhin Faherty

10.Eoin Deering

11.Evan Farrell

12.Evan Wynne

13.Jake Muldowney

14.Joe Mills

15.Josh Flood

16.Josh Thompson

17.Luan Da Silva

18.Matt Miley

19.Matthew Hopton

20.Noel Malone Leigh

21.Patrick Doyle

22.Rory Corrigan

23.Scott Cardiff

24.Scott Flood

25.Sean Doyle

26.Tony Hickey

27.Tommy Harte

No events found
We are looking for excellent teachers to join our team in September 2023
For your reading pleasure, "Silent Fright" by Amy Allen
Dunlavin, Co. Wicklow.
045 406 000
© 2023 St Kevins Community College